Wildflowers Galore: Chino Hills State Park

natureinspiredmom.ch9.jpg

Gorgeous neon green hills greeted us when we first arrived at the Chino Hills State Park (4721 Sapphire Road, Chino Hills, CA or here). After the rainstorms this winter, it is so amazing to see everything so green and dotted with wildflowers everywhere! In the above photo, people were taking this steep climb up to the top and getting closer look at the wildflowers. After seeing the superbloom at Anza Borrego (I wrote about our trip here), we started seeing amazing photos of wildflowers at Chino Hills State Park. We had never been to this edge of the parkย from Chino Hills (there are also entrances from the Brea and Yorba Linda borders),ย so we decided to explore and it sure was worth the trip!

natureinspiredmom.ch1.jpg

Although yellow wildflowers were the most predominant ones we saw, there were splashes of other colors as well. We were really spoiled by the abundance of color and the density of flowers. They were everywhere; lupine, poppies, wildflowers in yellow, white, purple and pink. The smell was amazing too! ย This was a real treat for the senses. My favorite was the blue-violet lupine, seen in the collage top left. In a cluster, they made quite the show!

The below photo shows the numerous wildflowers that filled the hills for miles and miles. It was quite difficult to photograph as they were small enough so one had to get close to take a good picture of the flowers, but to truly appreciate how many flowers there were, one would need to back up, and then all the flowers just blended in together and looks like grass or weeds. It was truly an experience to enjoy in person…these pictures (try as I might) just doesn’t do the beauty any justice. ๐Ÿ™‚

natureinspiredmom.ch5.jpg

 

natureinspiredmom.ch3.jpg

We drove slowly all the way up the narrow street (Bane Canyon Road) as there were lots of people hiking this path and enjoying the wildflowers all over the hills. We paid the entrance fee at the booth, and then drove all the way to the end, where it dead ends into a parking lot and Aliso Canyon trailhead.

IMG_5890.JPG

This trail was particularly scenic…with a huge rustic windmill, and tons of wildflowers on both sides of the path. Soon we were amongst the hills of wildflowers. The sight was amazing. My kids loved finding different colors of flowers everywhere, smelling them, and standing next to them. Many of the flowers were taller than they were!

natureinspiredmom.ch6.jpg

natureinspiredmom.ch7.jpg

It was getting a bit warm, so the trees and meandering stream below were a welcomed sight. I did find some poison ivy below the trees, so it’s a good idea to stay on the trail.

After this we didn’t make it very far, as I started having an allergy attack. I forgot my allergy medication and the pollen was getting to me :0! So we got back in the car and drove slowly back towards the entrance and stopped where we could (at turnoffs and small parking lots) to enjoy the sights.

natureinspiredmom.ch10.jpg

The photos above and below were different spots along Bane Canyon Road…quite the relaxing view! There was a slight breeze and the tall flowers would sway gently in the wind and rustle. It made some of my photos blurry, but the view was quite enjoyable regardless!

natureinspiredmom.ch13.jpg

Below was my favorite spot to enjoy the wildflowers. Unfortunately I could not get any closer as there was a sign that indicated ‘Not A Trail.’ But I loved seeing the purples with the orange flowers along the hillside. Definitely quite a treat!

natureinspiredmom.ch11.jpg

We took this trip approximately 2 weeks ago and I’m pretty sure the blooms are still there. I have to apologize for the delay in posting as I have been super busy with gardening and kids’ activities lately (more on both later). Spring break is coming up and I’m excited for more adventures ahead!

Thanks for reading! ๐Ÿ™‚

10 thoughts on “Wildflowers Galore: Chino Hills State Park

  1. You always find the most beautiful wildflower hikes! So pretty with the vibrant green as a backdrop. My in-laws live near Chino Hills SP, I’m going to check it out next time we visit (although we won’t be in time for the wildflowers). Thanks for sharing this, it inspires me to go look for wildflowers this weekend in my neck of the woods! ๐Ÿ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks…it’s really such a treat this year to see all the green everywhere I go. Driving to Chino Hills, the hills were neon green and such a difference from the years past. I bet there’s lots of wildflowers in your neck of the woods too! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

    1. Oh definitely…you read my mind Debbie! ๐Ÿ™‚ I almost thought about running it but there was too much traffic and people admiring wildflowers (and driving distracted :0) so I figure I’ll have to go again a different time if weather permits ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Wonderful! Yes, I’ll have to wait until the crowd dissipates a bit :). I’m glad you are able to run more! I keep forgetting to check my email…need to log in soon. Have a great week too! Karen ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

Leave a Reply

