Share Your World–April 10, 2017

Here are my responses to Cee’s Share Your World–April 10, 2017 questions:

Have you ever participated in a distance walking, swimming, running, or biking event? Tell your story. 

I love to run…mainly for fun and to relax, but I just ran my first marathon (I wrote about it here), and when I was younger, I ran the San Francisco Bay to Breakers.  I run an 8K fundraiser every year, and I’m looking into some half marathons along the beach and at Disneyland.

Running for me is therapeutic. My body is actually not made for running as much as weight training. But there’s something about getting out there (or on a treadmill if weather isn’t permitting), and just going at my own pace for long distances, that allows me to think through things and relax my mind. Doesn’t hurt that I’m burning calories too, especially after a high calorie meal! 🙂

Name one thing not many people know about you.

Even though I love minimalism and just being out in nature, I also appreciate music, the arts and antiques. I play the piano, viola, and I used to sing in a choir. I sometimes will start playing a tune on my piano for fun.  As for the arts, anything ornate, gilded, authentic, and with rich history grabs my attention. In particular, I love admiring antiques in museums, especially French or Baroque pieces. It’s interesting because we just watched the movie “Beauty and the Beast” and the whole time, I could not stop admiring all the antiques that were in the movie, and all the ornate details. In real life though, I wouldn’t dare own any nice pieces, as my kids would probably break them in a few hours. Even then, it wouldn’t be practical in general around the house…I’d rather admire art in a museum. 🙂

What is your favorite flower? 

natureinspiredmom.syw.jpg

I love all flowers so I can’t name a favorite. But, I love bright colorful showy ones, especially ones with medicinal properties, such as calendula or echinacea. Or ones that are fragrant…roses, pelargoniums, jasmine, even flowering herbs.

Things I want to have in my home (paintings, hot tubs, book cases, big screen tv etc)

I’m pretty happy with the things in my home. But if I ever won the lottery, I might consider putting a recessed ceiling in my bedroom and have it painted with an image of the sky or a classical painting.

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

This whole week my kids were on Spring Break. I’m so grateful to be able to spend extra time with them and take them places they can’t normally go during the week. We went on a hike, to the beach, to different stores and restaurants, to the movies, and we got some house and garden errands done. But I admit, I’m pretty exhausted. :0 So in the upcoming week, I am looking forward to getting back to the normal routine. And getting much needed chores done. There’s also a couple of plant shows coming up, and I’m looking forward to seeing new plant varieties and learning from the experts!

Thanks for reading! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Share Your World–April 10, 2017

    1. Yes for sure…the history behind the antiques makes it more valuable (at least to me :)). Spring has been awesome this year…I’m finding more varieties in my garden blooming that I forgot about…so much so I’ve had to garden and take a break from blogging! :0 But I’ll be posting photos soon. Lots of traveling during spring break…fun times! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

