Share Your World-May 15, 2017

natureinspiredmom.stinkyplant.jpg

Here are my responses to Cee’s Share Your World questions for this week:

How many languages do you you speak?

I speak primarily English, but in a pinch I can speak Chinese and Spanish. My family traveled a bit when I was young, so I have lived in both Asia and Latin America and picked up some of the languages.  At one point I was quite fluent in all three, but it has been too long. I also took many years of French in college but since I hardly ever find anyone to practice with, I can hardly remember it. Once in awhile though I will hear a French phrase or French movie dialogue and I’m always surprised that l understand a bit of it.

What are you reading, watching, listening to, eating?

I’m currently rewatching Downton Abbey. I’ve watched all the episodes already and am quite sad it all ended, but I really enjoy learning about life in those days; definitely makes me appreciate some of the modern advances! But because I enjoy antiques and vintage things, I do appreciate the intricate detail and gardens in the series.

What was the last photo you took with your phone?

natureinspiredmom.stinkyplant.jpgnatureinspiredmom.stinkyplant2.jpg

Ok, I had to include the last TWO photos I took. I included both because for such a rare plant, I wanted to show the details of it from the side. I was really amazed at how ruffled and “cabbage” like the plant looked! The flies were buzzing around this stinky plant, all going towards the inside of it (deep into the purple part); apparently the stink is to attract  bugs to pollinate this impressive plant.  This ‘Corpse Flower’ only blooms once a decade, and for 24-48 hours, and I was fortunate enough to see it today!

Actually I had no idea this corpse flower plant was in bloom until a dear friend of mine texted me about it, and being the plant enthusiast I am, since I happened to be in the area already, I rushed over to the Fullerton Arboretum as soon I could. There was quite a crowd; including 3 local news vans and reporters! And it sure was stinky; to me a cross between rotten radish/broccoli and trash. And then the surprising part of it all? I was on the news! Actually I can’t find the clip but my friend who happened to be watching the news took a snapshot of the clip and sure enough there I was looking intently at the plant.

What is your favorite time of day?

Definitely the morning! I love the start of a day, especially the cold in the early morning of summertime. It’s my time to pray, reflect, go out in the garden, and enjoy a nice cup of coffee.

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

Last week I was grateful for a wonderful and relaxing Mother’s Day after a super busy week. This week is super exciting I almost can’t sleep!  I am looking forward to:

  • dancing in a parade choreographed to one of my favorite songs
  • celebrating a milestone birthday AND
  • possibly exploring a deserted island and whale watching. I hope I’m not jinxing myself by writing about it already but you know I’ll be blogging about the adventure if it happens! 🙂

Thanks for reading! 🙂

9 thoughts on “Share Your World-May 15, 2017

    1. Thanks! I loved the questions this week and I hope to read your answers too. 🙂 That flower is definitely something else. I was going to check to see if it’s still being shown today or whether it’s all done blooming…quite spectacular!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Me too! I was so curious I went back again the next day to see ‘Stinky’…it bloomed bigger so more purple was showing but like cabbage that’s been sitting out too long, the edges were starting to wilt. The smell was still pungent though! I might include some photos in a different post, but sure was exciting to see the plant 24 hours later.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Wish I could have gone over to see Stinky! Enjoyed your blog! I’m up early usually as well to check out the garden, pray, and enjoy a cup of coffee! Dislike this early June Gloom in May, however!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Marilyn! We definitely think alike 🙂 I was just out there enjoying all the blooms…love the early morning time! Wish you could’ve seen Stinky too; it was pretty awesome. I wonder if it’s still on display today? The June Gloom in May is slowing down some of my fruiting plants and veggies, but not to worry; I think we are headed for a warming trend soon!

      Like

    1. Love Downton Abbey…if you get a chance the last year is worth it. I won’t spoil the ending but it’s good. 🙂 The plant is awesome; I had to go back to see it again and of course, I took more photos too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

